2013 Thesis Exhibition by BFA and MFA Candidates

Amanda Joseph, MA ’13 candidate, <em>Trailer Tra$h</em>, 2011, oil on gessoboard. Collection of the artist

Amanda Joseph, MA ’13 candidate, Trailer Tra$h, 2011, oil on gessoboard. Collection of the artist

O’Shaughnessy Galleries and the Milly and Fritz Kaeser Mestrovic Studio Gallery April 7–May 19, 2013

This annual exhibition of culminating works by ten seniors and six third-year graduate students in the Department of Art, Art History and Design demonstrates a broad awareness of the themes and processes of contemporary art, and is often provocative.

The artworks range from industrial and graphic design projects and complex multi-media installations to more traditional art forms such as paintings, drawings, photographs, prints, ceramics, and sculpture.

On Sunday, April 7 the Department of Art, Art History and Design awarded the following in the Museum’s Annenberg Auditorium during the opening reception for the exhibition.

Senior BFA Awards

The Emil Jacques Gold Medal of Fine Arts - Brandon Keelean

The Emil Jacques Silver Medal of Fine Arts - Alisa Rantanen

Radwan and Allan Riley Prize in Design - Cyril Bennett

Judith A. Wrappe Memorial Prize - Brandon Keelean

William & Connie Greif Award ( Funds available for exhibition supplies and equipment)
Jordan E. Bai                    Megan R. Malley                                     
Cyril M. Bennett                Jacqueline O’Neill
Jacqueline S. Hull             Alisa G. Rantanen                
Brandon R. Keelean         Danielle E. Schneider 
Airi Kobayashi                   Anna M. Young

Senior BA Awards

Radwan and Allan Riley Prize in Studio Art - Sade Murphy

Eugene M. Riley Photography Prize - William Bass

Fr. Anthony J. Lauck, C.S.C. Award - Breanna Stachowski

Mabel L. Mountain Painting Prize - Samantha Bradley

Graduate MA/MFA Awards

Radwan and Allan Riley Essay Prize in Art History - Erin Daly “Ruben’s Head of Medusa as an Emblem of Distinction in Early Modern Cabinets of Curiosity ”

Walter R. Beardsley Award selected by the director of the Snite Museum of Art - Justin Barfield